Workforce Training and Education

“I am pleased to expand the reach of Cyber Vets Virginia to help our veterans build the skill sets they need to be successful in the new Virginia economy,” said Governor McAuliffe. “We currently have 36,000 open cyber jobs in Virginia and our veteran community is well-suited to help close the workforce gap in this growing industry. We will continue to work with our partners and the private sector to build innovative pathways for job training and career development for veterans in Virginia.”  HRCyber has as a partner, Peregrine Technical Solutions, LLC. (Peregrine) who is the first company in the State, as well as the Nation, to officially register a cyber apprenticeship with the Department of Labor.  By using the tried and true method of apprenticeship, Peregrine believes that this effort can be duplicated across the region and Commonwealth to help fill these open cyber security positions on an expedited basis:

  • Develop long-term relationships with employees who are committed to the company
  • Hire new employees, teach them new skillsets and train them continuously
  • Invest in them, keep them current technically and grow to meet our requirements
  • Use the registered apprenticeship as a model
  • Assuming success, expand to include more new hires
  • Update our curriculum to meet changing standards from the DoD
  • Support other companies interested in cyber apprenticeships

The Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia congratulates Peregrine Technical Solutions on the first registered cyber apprenticeship in the State.

Pictured here are left to right: Robert Guess, Cyber Security Professor, TCC; Dr. Edna Baehre-Kolovani, President, TCC; Terry McAuliffe, Governor of Virginia and Dr. Leigh Armistead, President, Peregrine Technical Solutions 


Peregrine is partnered with Tidewater Community College (TCC) located in Hampton Roads, has developed a Career Studies Certificate in Cyber Security (221-732-09) and an Associate of Applied Science:  IS Technology (299), which are designed to support a career in cyber security and Information Assurance.  Here is a snapshot of the Cyber Security certificate program and the specific cyber security curriculums are described in more detail at

  • The Apprenticeship Level I candidate focus on basic knowledge of HW/SW, with ITN-101 (Introduction to Network Concepts) a pre-requisite for most of the classes.  Specifically, for an A+ certificate, two courses (ITN-106, Microcomputer Operating Systems and ITN-107, Personal Computer Hardware and Troubleshooting) are aligned with this particular examination plus ITN-109 (Internet and Network Foundation) are the four required courses for Level I. 
  • The proposed Apprenticeship Level II candidate curriculum consists of the following courses:  ITN-257 (Cloud Computing: Infrastructure and Services), ITN-260 (Network Security Basics), ITN-267 (Legal Topics in Network Security) and ITN-270 (Advanced Linux Network Administration). 

The goal is for the Level I apprenticeship to get an A+ certificate (IAT 1) and a Level II apprenticeship a Security + certificate (IAT II). 

  • The A+ certification demonstrates competency as a computer technician. CompTIA A+ certification is a vendor neutral certification that covers numerous technologies and operating systems from such vendors as Microsoft, Apple Inc., Novell and some of the Linux distributions.   The A+ exam is intended for information technology professionals who have the equivalent of 500 hours of hands-on experience. The exams are computer based and composed of multiple choice questions, of which there may be more than one correct answer. Over one million people have earned the A+ credential worldwide. In order to receive A+ certification a candidate must pass two exams. The first exam covers PC hardware and peripherals, mobile device hardware, networking, and troubleshooting hardware and network connectivity issues. A second test covers installing and configuring operating systems including Windows, iOS, Android, Apple OS X and Linux. It also addresses security, cloud computing fundamentals and operational procedures.
  • The Security+ certification deals with computer security topics such as cryptography and access control, as well as business-related topics such as disaster recovery and risk management. Current recommendations are that candidates have two years of security-related work experience, but that is not a requirement. Exam topics include network security, compliance and operation security, threats and vulnerabilities as well as application, data and host security. Also included are access control, identity management, and cryptography. The Security+ exam can be applied as an elective to the MCSA: Security and the MCSE: Security specializations from Microsoft. For United States Department of Defense employees, DoD 8570, IAT Level II certification guidelines lists Security+ as one of four certification choices.  The CompTIA Security+ exam places emphasis on both recognizing and mitigating specific security issues. CompTIA has also introduced Performance Based Exam Objectives, which introduces simulator-based testing commonly found on Cisco and Microsoft exams.

The elements of a registered Department of Labor apprenticeship are shown below:

  • Establish an Apprenticeship Committee – for Peregrine, this consisted of our senior leadership along with the Director of Apprenticeship at Tidewater Community College and the respective DOL representatives in VA and AK
  • Identify the Occupation/Job Series - Information Security Analyst, O*NET – 15-1122.00.  Our apprenticeship is competency based with two categories:
    • Level I - 2000 hours at a minimum for 12-18 months
    • Level II – 4000 hours at a minimum for 24-30 months
  • Identify on-the-job Learning Competencies:  Matched to DoD 8570 and 8140 regulations to become an IAT 1 (Level I) or IAT 2 (Level II)
  • Develop a Related Instruction Curriculum – Peregrine worked with TCC to coordinate online courses to give the training to pass the following certifications:
    • Level I – Four courses (ITN 101, 106, 107 and 109) to pass Comptia A+ test
    • Level II – Eight Courses (The four Level I courses plus ITN 257, 260, 267 and 270) t o pass the Comptia Security + test
  • Develop Apprentice Standards – Peregrine has three specific labor categories:
    • Cyber Security Analyst, Level 1- outcome is completion of one of the recommended industry certifications for Level 1: CAP, SSCP, Security+
    • Computer Forensics Analyst, Level 1- outcome is completion of one of the recommended industry certifications for Level 1:  EnCE, ACE, Certified Computer Examiner (CCE), or GIAC Certified Forensics Analyst (GCFA)
    • Incident Response Analyst Cyber Security, Level 1- outcome is completion of one of the recommended certifications: GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH), EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), Certified Incident Handler (CIH)